The Unconsidered Psychological Benefits Of Meal Planning? 

Ok so it might sound like a bit of a yawn worthy subject, but since deciding to plan my daily meals I have saved my self alot more than just time and stress.

https://s-i.huffpost.com/gen/1288890/images/o-DOG-YAWN-facebook.jpg

I have actually discovered some serious feel good benefits to this 1 simple lifestyle change. I had been toying with the idea of meal planning for a while now but decided to finally go ahead and trial it about 6 months ago and i have done so every week without fail since!  

Besides saving your precious time and money it has improved others areas of my mental wellbeing and here’s why…

Reduced Stress

https://www.mindful.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/06/stress_feature.png

One of the biggest influences on this lifestyle change is without a doubt decreased stress. I remember a time when I would stumble home after a long shift at work tired and hungry only to open the fridge and go completely blank.

There was a plethora of  ingredients but what to do with them, I had no idea! 

I would then reach for that frozen pizza because i was so tired and simply had zero motivation to plan and prepare a meal. 

https://0bba85283010b328c484-f139c7401b3658260f434c192b129add.ssl.cf3.rackcdn.com/papalui.co.uk/manage/manage_uploads/upload/phpAWnczX.png

The result was an unhealthy lifestyle with more food and money wasted. Sharpens Your Organisation Skills 

https://img.gawkerassets.com/img/17hnqm2c5cujyjpg/ku-xlarge.jpg

When you meal plan you have to think ahead of what to buy and what meals would best be suited for what days.Working late on Wednesday evening? Pherhaps this day would best be suited to a simple pasta meal thats easy and creates less washing up. 

Thinking this way on a regular basis will mean you are more likely to better organise other aspects of your daily life. 

I have found It has even improved my organisation and planning at work! 

Increases Fun! 

http://www.petvetoasis.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/dreamstime_m_15187219.jpg

When me and my husband stumble home from a hard days graft the first thing we jump to is food.Because we know exactly what we are doing and that the ingredients are fresh we are much more motivated to get the job done and create a delicious healthy meal from scratch. 

Therefore we work together as a team with my hubby starting straight away on veg prep, where as i prepare equipment and start any cooking.

We often turn it into a fun game and chat about our days.

We find it only increases our bond further! 

Fun While Shopping? 

http://www.babaimage.com/images/shopping-is-fun-why-not-shop-around-your-yearbook-decision.jpg

We also enjoy shopping for the ingredients much more as we have a direct focus on what we need. We often split the list in half and race to see who can get there half done first! 

Reduced Anxiety 

https://s.isanook.com/he/0/ud/1/5361/thumb_panic.jpg

Healthy eating and a balanced diet has been shown to reduce feelings of anxiety. As part of my meal plan i make sure i have simple homemade smoothies every morning and vegetables every night. Please check out ‘Liquid Positivity’ below for this fun and easy recipe. 

https://lauraandkarl.wordpress.com/2017/12/06/liquid-positivty/https://lauraandkarl.wordpress.com/2017/12/06/liquid-positivty/

When you plan your meals you are much more likely to include fresh vegteables and more balanced options. 

Doing so has vastly improved my mental wellbeing as i feel more focused, more energetic and less anxious. 

Before meal planning i would often grab sugary cereal or cereal bars which only accentuated agitation more. 

So why meal plan to increase your mental wellbeing? Increased motivation, better organisation, more fun and a healthier lifestyle!  

Happy cooking! 

 

LSD ♡ 


9 thoughts on “The Unconsidered Psychological Benefits Of Meal Planning? 

  1. Yessss, love meal planning. Couldn’t have said it all better myself at all, makes everything so much easier doesn’t it x

    Liked by 2 people

    1. its great isnt it! im so anoyed i didnt do it sooner but better late than never i guess haha! x♡

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have found that it also creates less waste. I am using what I buy instead of just grocery shopping and letting food sit in the fridge. If I am buying an ingredient that is not an “everyday staple” I try to find a few recipes that also use the same ingredient.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely creates less waste! It’s so good.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. So true! I haaaate when I don’t meal plan because the last thing I wanna do after a long day of work is try to scrounge something up for dinner without any idea!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. well said! so many times ive ended up eating cheap frozen pizza because of this!

      Like

  4. tinyacornmightyoakcouk January 18, 2018 — 11:43 pm

    Meal planning is fab 🙂 it saves so much time, saves waste and ensures I’m eating healthily!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. its awesome isnt it! thanks for checking out my blog ♡

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment